CollegeScout
Private

Yale University

New Haven, CT
Admit Rate
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.94 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$91,950
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Yale admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP English LiteratureAP US HistoryAP Calculus BCAP European History

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Yale admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Restrictive Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 2. Yale admissions
Overall
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
5%
Out-of-State
4%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.94 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1500 - 1580
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Ethics, Politics and Economics (E.P.&E.)HistoryGlobal Affairs (Jackson)Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Yale admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Restrictive Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 2 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Ethics, Politics and Economics (E.P.&E.)Jackson School of Global AffairsEnglish Language and Literature / Creative Writing

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsPolitical ScienceComputer ScienceHistory
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Ethics, Politics, and Economics (EP&E)Global AffairsEnvironmental Studies

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$91,950

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $67,250* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$17,633
$30,001 – $48,000
$15,626
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,943
$75,001 – $110,000
$12,558
Over $110,000
$45,951

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Yale, like its Ivy peers, awards no merit scholarships, so admitted students should treat the net price calculator as the real number to budget around.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
New Haven, CT· Urban
Undergraduates
6,814
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Yale admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Yale admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026