CollegeScout
Private

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Worcester, Massachusetts
Admit Rate
60%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$87,570
per year, before aid
Test Policy
Doesn't use SAT/ACT

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of math through pre-calculus/calculus4 years of lab scienceStrong performance in physics and chemistry

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 5, Early Action November 1, Early Action II January 5, Regular Decision February 1. Common App requirements grid
Overall
60%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1330-1470
Doesn't use SAT/ACT
Impacted Majors
Robotics Engineering (high-demand, capacity-limited)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 5 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Early Action II
January 5 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
February 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Robotics EngineeringActuarial Mathematics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Robotics EngineeringMechanical EngineeringComputer ScienceElectrical & Computer EngineeringActuarial Mathematics
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Data ScienceHuman-Robot InteractionGlobal Projects Program (IQP)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$87,570

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $60,965* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$24,018
$30,001 – $48,000
$24,452
$48,001 – $75,000
$32,350
$75,001 – $110,000
$37,753
Over $110,000
$49,716

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

WPI awards merit scholarships to a substantial share of admitted students based on academic profile, alongside need-based aid; exact award amounts vary by applicant strength and are not published as guaranteed figures.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Worcester, Massachusetts· Small City
Undergraduates
5,558
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27