CollegeScout
Private

Williams College

Williamstown, MA
Admit Rate
8%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$95,300
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Williams admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2024-25 cycle. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years math (through calculus recommended)4 years lab science3-4 years foreign language4 years English with strong analytical writingHistory/Social Science

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Williams admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$65. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 15, Regular Decision January 4. Williams admission
Overall
8%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1490 - 1550
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Williams admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 15 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 4 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$65
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Art History (Williams-Clark Art Institute partnership)EconomicsTutorial Program (cross-departmental, especially Political Science, Philosophy, English)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsPolitical ScienceArt HistoryEnglishComputer ScienceMathematicsBiologyHistory
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Williams Graduate Program in the History of Art (joint with the Clark Art Institute)Williams-Exeter Programme at OxfordWilliams-Mystic Maritime Studies ProgramCenter for Environmental Studies (interdisciplinary major)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$95,300

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $68,560* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
-$2,610
$30,001 – $48,000
-$1,727
$48,001 – $75,000
-$1,978
$75,001 – $110,000
$3,030
Over $110,000
$49,594

A negative figure means the average aid package was larger than the school's full cost of attendance — those families were paid the difference rather than billed.

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Like most highly selective liberal arts colleges, Williams awards aid purely on demonstrated need with no merit scholarships, so a strong applicant without financial need should expect to pay full price.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Williamstown, MA· Rural
Undergraduates
2,035
Setting
Rural
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Williams admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Williams admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026