CollegeScout
Private

Washington University in St. Louis

St. Louis, Missouri
Admit Rate
12%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$88,488
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: WashU admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 29, 2026)

WashU's admissions leadership has said publicly it expects to announce a change to this policy; re-check before the next cycle.

Data sourced from CDS, Institutional Website, for the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page. Testing policy checked against the college's own pages on Oct 18, 2026.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of English4 years of math (calculus for STEM/business applicants)4 years of lab science recommended for pre-health/engineering3-4 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. WashU's admissions leadership has said publicly it expects to announce a change to this policy; re-check before the next cycle. WashU admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 2, Early Decision (binding) November 2, Early Decision II (binding) January 4, Regular Decision January 4. Common App requirements grid
Overall
12%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Unweighted GPA
Not published

Not separately published; WashU's Common Data Set reports only a weighted average GPA of approximately 4.19

Mid-50% SAT
1500-1570
SAT/ACT optional
Top 10 majors
  1. 1Computer Science
  2. 2Finance
  3. 3Experimental Psychology
  4. 4Mechanical Engineering
  5. 5Biology
  6. 6Quantitative Economics
  7. 7Political Science
  8. 8Marketing
  9. 9Biomedical Engineering
  10. 10Neuroscience

Ordered by how many students graduated in each, 2023-24. Source: U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS Completions survey). Names are the federal categories, so Washington University in St. Louis may call a major something slightly different.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 2 · Non-binding
Early Decision
November 2 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 4 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 4 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Beyond Grades

Sports

NCAA Division III
Varsity sports (10)
BaseballBasketballFootballGolfSoccerSoftballSwimming and divingTennisTrack and field and cross countryVolleyball
U.S. Department of Education, Equity in Athletics data (2024-25)
How music and sports fit into an application

Academics

Flagship Programs

Olin Business School (BSBA)School of Engineering & Applied Science (Biomedical Engineering)Pre-Health / Pre-Med advising

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Biology/Pre-MedBusinessBiomedical EngineeringComputer ScienceEconomicsPsychological and Brain SciencesPolitical ScienceEnvironmental Studies
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Philosophy-Neuroscience-PsychologyEnvironmental StudiesInternational and Area StudiesInnovation and Design (iDEA)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$88,488* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $65,790* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$1,716
$30,001 – $48,000
$1,928
$48,001 – $75,000
$5,578
$75,001 – $110,000
$12,603
Over $110,000
$42,170

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

WashU meets 100% of demonstrated need and offers a set of named merit scholarships (e.g., Danforth, Ervin, Rodriguez Scholars), but these are extremely competitive and limited in number -- most admitted students should plan around need-based aid rather than merit.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
St. Louis, Missouri· Suburban
Undergraduates
8,153
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27

‡WashU admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 29, 2026