CollegeScout
Private

Villanova University

Villanova, Pennsylvania (Philadelphia Main Line)
Admit Rate
27%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Highly Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
Average GPA of enrolled students approximately 3.87 (weighting basis not specified by the university; no discrete 25th/75th range published)
Cost of Attendance
$97,048
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from CDS, Institutional Website · Last verified September 2026; admit rate (overall 28.1%, ED admit rate ~59.8%, RD ~25.9%), GPA, class rank, and financial aid figures from Villanova's Common Data Set via CDS-aggregator summary; testing policy and plan types (ED, ED2, EA, RD) confirmed via institutional aggregator source, but exact application deadlines could not be confirmed on villanova.edu (which returned errors on repeated attempts) and are left null; net price calculator URL, Greek life %, and undergraduate-wide on-campus % not found in an available public source and left null (a 99% first-year on-campus figure was found but is not the same metric as overall undergraduate housing %, so it was not substituted).. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of English4 years of math3-4 years of lab science (especially for Nursing/Engineering applicants)3-4 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 15, Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
27%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
Average GPA of enrolled students approximately 3.87 (weighting basis not specified by the university; no discrete 25th/75th range published)
Mid-50% SAT
1420-1490
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
M. Louise Fitzpatrick College of Nursing (direct-admit, highly competitive)Villanova School of Business (direct-admit, competitive)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 15 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Villanova School of BusinessM. Louise Fitzpatrick College of NursingCollege of Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
NursingBusiness/FinanceEngineeringCommunicationPolitical SciencePsychologyBiologyComputer Science
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Health Care PolicyPeace and Justice StudiesGlobal Interdisciplinary StudiesBusiness Analytics

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$97,048

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $67,776* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$17,823
$30,001 – $48,000
$16,496
$48,001 – $75,000
$20,923
$75,001 – $110,000
$33,389
Over $110,000
$58,741

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Villanova's aid is predominantly need-based (meeting an average of 84% of demonstrated need for aided first-years) with only a small, highly selective Presidential Scholarship program for merit -- most families should plan around the need-based net price estimate.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Villanova, Pennsylvania (Philadelphia Main Line)· Suburban
Undergraduates
6,935
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27