CollegeScout
Public

University of Washington

Seattle, WA
Admit Rate
39%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.75 - 3.98
Cost of Attendance
$35,305
$65,541 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP Computer Science AAP BiologyAP Physics C

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are sometimes required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Regular Decision November 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
39%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
52%
Out-of-State
35%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.75 - 3.98
Mid-50% SAT
1300 - 1500
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Computer Science (Allen School)BioengineeringNursingInformatics

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Regular Decision
November 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85 U.S., $95 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & EngineeringBioengineeringFoster School of Business

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Computer ScienceEngineeringBusinessPublic HealthNursingEnvironmental Sciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Human-Centered Design & EngineeringInformaticsGlobal Health

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$35,305
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$65,541

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $12,973* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $43,209* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$6,384
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,039
$48,001 – $75,000
$8,110
$75,001 – $110,000
$14,328
Over $110,000
$30,019

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

UW's aid philosophy leans need-based with very limited merit scholarships, so admitted students shouldn't count on a merit award to close the large in-state/out-of-state cost gap.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Seattle, WA· Urban
Undergraduates
40,684
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27