CollegeScout
Public

University of Virginia

Charlottesville, Virginia
Admit Rate
17%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Highly Selective
Cost of Attendance
$41,803
$79,512 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, CDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English4 years math3-4 years lab science3-4 years history/social science3-4 years of one foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 5. Common App requirements grid
Overall
17%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
24%
Out-of-State
13%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% SAT
1410-1540
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Commerce (McIntire, competitive third-year admission)Computer ScienceNursing

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

McIntire School of CommerceSchool of Engineering and Applied ScienceJefferson Scholars / College of Arts & Sciences Honors

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Commerce/BusinessComputer ScienceGovernment/Political ScienceBiologyEconomics
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Politics, Philosophy, LawGlobal SustainabilityData Science minor across schools

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$41,803
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$79,512

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $21,803* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $59,512* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$8,174
$30,001 – $48,000
$9,696
$48,001 – $75,000
$13,283
$75,001 – $110,000
$20,822
Over $110,000
$35,402

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

UVA's AccessUVA program meets 100% of demonstrated need for admitted students regardless of residency, but out-of-state merit scholarships (e.g., Jefferson Scholars) are exceptionally limited in number, so most non-Virginians should plan on need-based aid or full cost.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Charlottesville, Virginia· Suburban
Undergraduates
17,885
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27