CollegeScout
Public

University of Texas at Austin

Austin, TX
Admit Rate
27%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Highly Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.80 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$32,446
$65,666 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: UT Austin admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Official Classic Learning Test (CLT) scores also satisfy this requirement.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP MicroeconomicsAP Physics CAP English Language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Official Classic Learning Test (CLT) scores also satisfy this requirement. UT Austin admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action October 15, Regular Decision December 1. UT Austin admissions
Overall
27%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
34%
Out-of-State
10%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.80 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1300 - 1500
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Computer Science (Turing Scholars)Business (McCombs / Canfield BHP)Biomedical EngineeringPetroleum Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: UT Austin admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Action
October 15 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
December 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75 U.S., $90 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Canfield Business Honors Program (McCombs CBHP)Turing Scholars (Honors Computer Science)Cockrell School of Engineering (Biomedical/Petroleum)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringBusinessComputer ScienceCommunicationNatural SciencesLiberal Arts
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Turing Scholars Honors CSPlan II HonorsBusiness HonorsManagement Information Systems (McCombs School of Business)

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$32,446
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$65,666

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $11,688* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $44,908* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$12,553
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,297
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,207
$75,001 – $110,000
$24,406
Over $110,000
$30,082

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

UT Austin's merit scholarships are mostly awarded through McCombs, Cockrell, and other college-specific programs rather than one general pool, so it pays to check each college's own scholarship deadlines early.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Austin, TX· Urban
Undergraduates
43,165
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†UT Austin admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡UT Austin admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026