CollegeScout
Private

University of San Francisco

San Francisco, CA
Admit Rate
62%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$84,784
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years EnglishBiology/Chemistry for nursing-track applicantsMath through Algebra II/PrecalculusCommunity service or social-justice-related activity

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Action November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 15, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
62%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1190-1390 (SAT EBRW 610-700 / Math 580-690; ACT Composite 25-30)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Early Decision II
January 15 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

School of Nursing and Health ProfessionsSchool of Management

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
NursingBusiness/ManagementComputer ScienceSociology
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Data Science programs spanning business and computer scienceEnvironmental Studies leveraging Bay Area sustainability sector

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$84,784

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $60,492* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$31,537
$30,001 – $48,000
$33,207
$48,001 – $75,000
$34,315
$75,001 – $110,000
$38,933
Over $110,000
$52,497

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

USF offers merit scholarships awarded automatically upon admission based on academic profile, layered with need-based aid; the net price calculator is the most reliable early estimate.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
San Francisco, CA· Urban
Undergraduates
5,321
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27