CollegeScout
Private

University of San Diego

San Diego, CA
Admit Rate
52%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$84,912
per year, before aid
Test Policy
Doesn't use SAT/ACT‡ (source: University of San Diego admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

USD calls this "test-free": scores are not viewed.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years EnglishMath through PrecalculusBiology/Chemistry if pursuing nursing or pre-healthCommunity service experience

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT and ACT scores aren't considered in admission. USD calls this "test-free": scores are not viewed. University of San Diego admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Action November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 5, Regular Decision January 15. USD admissions
Overall
52%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

GPA and test score ranges aren't reported for this school.

Doesn't use SAT/ACT
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: USD admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Early Decision II
January 5 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Knauss School of BusinessShiley-Marcos School of Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Business AdministrationNursingEngineeringPolitical Science
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Changemaker Hub social-innovation programming spanning business and public service

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$84,912

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $59,486* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$15,586
$30,001 – $48,000
$17,441
$48,001 – $75,000
$19,557
$75,001 – $110,000
$27,012
Over $110,000
$46,989

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

USD awards merit scholarships automatically to many admitted students based on the admission application; families should still use the net price calculator for a personalized estimate.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
San Diego, CA· Urban
Undergraduates
5,851
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†USD admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡University of San Diego admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026