CollegeScout
Private

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA
Admit Rate
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.93 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$89,028
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Penn Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

A hardship waiver is available.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website, for the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page. Testing policy and deadlines checked against the college's own pages on Oct 18, 2026.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP StatisticsAP MicroeconomicsAP Macroeconomics

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. A hardship waiver is available. Penn Admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 5. Penn admissions
Overall
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
6%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
Out-of-State
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.93 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1510 - 1570
SAT/ACT required
Top 10 majors
  1. 1Financial Analytics
  2. 2Quantitative Economics
  3. 3Nursing
  4. 4Computer and Information Sciences
  5. 5Biology
  6. 6Philosophy (other)
  7. 7Neuroscience
  8. 8Management Science
  9. 9Political Science
  10. 10Computer Science

Ordered by how many students graduated in each, 2023-24. Source: U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS Completions survey). Names are the federal categories, so University of Pennsylvania may call a major something slightly different.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Penn admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Beyond Grades

Sports

NCAA Division I (FCS)
Varsity sports (17)
BaseballBasketballFencingField hockeyFootballGolfGymnasticsLacrosseRowingSoccerSoftballSquashSwimming and divingTennisTrack and field and cross countryVolleyballWrestling
U.S. Department of Education, Equity in Athletics data (2024-25)
  • Ivy League schools give athletes aid based on financial need only, never on athletic ability.Joint Ivy Statement
  • Coaches can get admissions feedback on a recruit from July 1 after junior year, and likely letters can come from October 1 of senior year.Joint Ivy Statement
How music and sports fit into an application

Academics

Flagship Programs

Wharton School of BusinessHuntsman / Jerome Fisher M&T Coordinated Dual DegreesSchool of Nursing (BSN)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringNursingLiberal Arts
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Huntsman Program in International Studies and BusinessJerome Fisher Program in Management & Technology (M&T)Vagelos Integrated Program in Energy Research (VIPER)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$89,028* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $68,686* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
-$3,012
$30,001 – $48,000
$316
$48,001 – $75,000
$10,439
$75,001 – $110,000
$25,476
Over $110,000
$55,972

A negative figure means the average aid package was larger than the school's full cost of attendance — those families were paid the difference rather than billed.

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Penn is need-based only with no merit scholarships, so admitted students should rely on the net price calculator rather than expecting a merit award to close the gap.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Philadelphia, PA· Urban
Undergraduates
11,478
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Penn admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Penn Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026