CollegeScout
Public

University of Maryland, College Park

College Park, Maryland
Admit Rate
45%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$31,731
$61,108 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English4 years math3-4 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test-flexible: the school accepts several options, so check its site. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 20. Common App requirements grid
Overall
45%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1400-1530
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Computer Science (limited-enrollment)Business (Smith)Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 20 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Robert H. Smith School of BusinessDepartment of Computer ScienceA. James Clark School of Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Computer ScienceEngineeringBusinessPublic PolicyJournalism
Interdisciplinary Pathways
CybersecurityData ScienceGovernment and Politics dual-track

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$31,731
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$61,108

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $11,809* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $41,186* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$2,962
$30,001 – $48,000
$6,051
$48,001 – $75,000
$10,273
$75,001 – $110,000
$18,250
Over $110,000
$26,691

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Maryland's Banneker/Key merit scholarship is extremely competitive and open to nonresidents, but the bulk of Maryland's aid budget is need-based and skews toward in-state students, so out-of-state admits should expect limited merit support.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
College Park, Maryland· Suburban
Undergraduates
31,133
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27