CollegeScout
Public

University of Kansas

Lawrence, Kansas
Admit Rate
93%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$28,808
$47,138 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: University of Kansas admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. University of Kansas admissions
Application fee
$40. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1 (The freshman scholarship deadline is a separate date: December 1). University of Kansas admissions (Spanish site)
Overall
93%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1070-1300 (EBRW 540-650, Math 530-650); ACT 20-28
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingJournalism (William Allen White School, secondary admission)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: University of Kansas admissions (Spanish site) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
The freshman scholarship deadline is a separate date: December 1.

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$40 U.S., $90 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass CommunicationsSchool of Business

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessJournalismEngineeringPharmacy
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Journalism + BusinessGlobal & International Studies

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$28,808
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$47,138

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $12,102* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $30,432* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$12,544
$30,001 – $48,000
$12,942
$48,001 – $75,000
$15,154
$75,001 – $110,000
$19,169
Over $110,000
$22,544

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Not marketed as an automatic-scale merit school in the sources reviewed; December 1 is cited as the priority deadline for freshman scholarship consideration, but no published GPA/SAT award matrix was identified.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Lawrence, Kansas· Small City
Undergraduates
22,085
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†University of Kansas admissions (Spanish site) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡University of Kansas admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026