CollegeScout
Public

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Urbana-Champaign, IL
Admit Rate
42%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.75 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$34,226
$53,346 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP Computer Science AAP Physics C: BothAP Statistics

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 5. Common App requirements grid
Overall
42%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
54%
Out-of-State
33%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.75 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1350 - 1510
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Computer Science (Grainger)Computer EngineeringMechanical EngineeringAccountancy (Gies)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Grainger College of Engineering - Computer ScienceGies College of Business - AccountancyCivil and Environmental Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringComputer ScienceBusinessAgricultureFine and Applied ArtsJournalism
Interdisciplinary Pathways
BioengineeringInformaticsData ScienceBS in Business + Data Science (Gies College of Business)

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$34,226
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$53,346

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $16,004* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $35,124* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$2,038
$30,001 – $48,000
$5,373
$48,001 – $75,000
$7,982
$75,001 – $110,000
$15,152
Over $110,000
$28,761

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Illinois offers relatively little merit aid to out-of-state students, so the in-state/out-of-state cost gap is one of the widest among these flagships and deserves careful budgeting up front.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Urbana-Champaign, IL· Small City
Undergraduates
37,140
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27