CollegeScout
Public

University of Georgia

Athens, Georgia
Admit Rate
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
Not published unweighted; UGA reports only a weighted average GPA of 4.17 (about 87% of admits at 3.75+ weighted)
Cost of Attendance
$28,768
$49,612 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required

Data sourced from CDS, Institutional Website · Last verified September 2026; admit rate, SAT range, weighted GPA, and enrollment from UGA's Common Data Set via CDS-aggregator summary (in-state/out-of-state admit-rate split not separately reported and not substituted); testing policy (test-required, no test-optional pathway) and application plan types/deadlines confirmed directly on admissions.uga.edu; in-state/out-of-state cost of attendance from the same CDS source; net price calculator URL and Greek life/on-campus % not found in an available public source and left null.. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of English4 years of math3-4 years of lab science2-3 years of a foreign languageSAT or ACT scores are required (no test-optional pathway)

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are always required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action October 15, Regular Decision January 1. Common App requirements grid
Overall
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
Not published unweighted; UGA reports only a weighted average GPA of 4.17 (about 87% of admits at 3.75+ weighted)
Mid-50% SAT
1250-1420
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Terry College of Business (competitive secondary admission after prerequisite coursework)Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication (competitive secondary admission)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
October 15 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70 U.S., $85 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Terry College of BusinessGrady College of Journalism and Mass CommunicationCollege of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessJournalism/Public RelationsBiology/Pre-HealthAgricultural SciencesPsychologyPolitical ScienceEngineeringEducation
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Environmental Economics and ManagementSports ManagementPublic HealthInternational Affairs

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$28,768
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$49,612

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $11,450* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $31,688* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$8,085
$30,001 – $48,000
$8,686
$48,001 – $75,000
$13,096
$75,001 – $110,000
$16,942
Over $110,000
$18,079

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

In-state Georgia residents benefit enormously from the HOPE and Zell Miller Scholarships, which can cover most or all tuition -- but these do not apply to out-of-state students. Out-of-state families should expect to pay close to the full out-of-state sticker price, aside from a very small number of highly competitive merit awards like the Foundation Fellowship.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Athens, Georgia· Small City
Undergraduates
32,564
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27