CollegeScout
Public

University of Connecticut

Storrs, Connecticut
Admit Rate
52%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$40,744
$63,412 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3-4 years lab science3 years social studies2-3 years foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
52%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1210-1440 (EBRW 610-710, Math 600-730); ACT 28-33
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingBusiness (School of Business, secondary/direct admission)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

School of LawSchool of Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringEducationNursing
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Actuarial ScienceDigital Media

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$40,744
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$63,412

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $21,044* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $43,712* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$15,193
$30,001 – $48,000
$16,339
$48,001 – $75,000
$20,608
$75,001 – $110,000
$28,285
Over $110,000
$33,797

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Not marketed as an automatic-scale merit school; no published GPA/SAT scholarship chart was identified from public sources.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Storrs, Connecticut· Rural
Undergraduates
20,056
Setting
Rural
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27