CollegeScout
Public

University of Colorado Boulder

Boulder, Colorado
Admit Rate
78%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$38,456
$67,708 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$65. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 15, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
78%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1240-1430
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Computer ScienceBusiness (Leeds)Engineering (aerospace, highly regarded)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 15 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$65 U.S., $70 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Ann and H.J. Smead Aerospace Engineering SciencesLeeds School of BusinessCollege of Engineering and Applied Science

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Aerospace EngineeringBusinessEnvironmental ScienceComputer ScienceMedia/Communication
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Environmental StudiesData ScienceEntrepreneurship

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$38,456
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$67,708

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $15,666* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $44,918* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$14,231
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,381
$48,001 – $75,000
$18,828
$75,001 – $110,000
$26,915
Over $110,000
$34,818

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

CU Boulder offers merit scholarships to strong out-of-state applicants (e.g., Chancellor's/Regents-style awards), but the out-of-state cost of attendance is among the highest of the public flagships in this set, so merit aid rarely closes the full gap.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Boulder, Colorado· Small City
Undergraduates
32,244
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27