CollegeScout
Private

University of Chicago

Chicago, Illinois
Admit Rate
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$98,301
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of math4 years of English with heavy writing/discussion emphasis3-4 years of lab science3-4 years of a foreign languageRigorous AP/IB/honors course load

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$90. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 2, Early Decision II (binding) January 4, Early Action November 2, Regular Decision January 4. Common App requirements grid
Overall
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1510-1560
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 2 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 4 · Binding
Early Action
November 2 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 4 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$90
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

EconomicsMathematics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsMathematicsPolitical ScienceComputer ScienceBiology
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Public Policy StudiesData ScienceFundamentals: Issues and Texts

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$98,301

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $70,662* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
-$1,264
$30,001 – $48,000
$914
$48,001 – $75,000
$226
$75,001 – $110,000
$12,602
Over $110,000
$48,524

A negative figure means the average aid package was larger than the school's full cost of attendance — those families were paid the difference rather than billed.

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

UChicago is need-blind for domestic applicants and meets full demonstrated need; it does not offer merit-based scholarships -- all institutional aid is need-based.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Chicago, Illinois· Urban
Undergraduates
7,453
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27