CollegeScout
Public

University of Arizona

Tucson, Arizona
Admit Rate
86%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$35,722
$64,074 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: University of Arizona admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. University of Arizona admissions
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is not accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1. University of Arizona admissions
Overall
86%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1150-1420
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingEngineeringBusiness (Eller)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: University of Arizona admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
Not publicly reported · Non-binding
Applications received after November 1 move to a Regular Decision timeline; decisions are released on a space-available basis.

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Not accepted
Self-reported courses and grades
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Lunar and Planetary Laboratory / Space SciencesEller College of ManagementJames E. Rogers College of Law's pre-law pipeline

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringBusinessOptical SciencesAgriculture and Life SciencesHealth Sciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Space SciencesData ScienceSustainability

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$35,722
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$64,074

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $13,926* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $42,278* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$13,353
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,984
$48,001 – $75,000
$16,051
$75,001 – $110,000
$19,777
Over $110,000
$22,307

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Arizona is known for aggressive automatic merit scholarships tied to GPA and test scores that substantially discount the out-of-state sticker price for well-qualified applicants, making it one of the more generous merit-aid flagships for non-residents.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Tucson, Arizona· Urban
Undergraduates
44,848
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†University of Arizona admissions · 2026-27

‡University of Arizona admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026