CollegeScout
Public

The University of Montana

Missoula, MT
Admit Rate
96%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$23,570
$48,689 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional† (source: The University of Montana admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Selective programs with separate admission (e.g. Davidson Honors College) may require scores.

Data sourced from IPEDS, College Scorecard · Last verified 2026-09-22. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Admissions

How admission works here

Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Selective programs with separate admission (e.g. Davidson Honors College) may require scores. The University of Montana admissions
Deadlines
Early Action December 1, Regular Decision March 1 (Priority date to be considered for fall enrollment; UM continues rolling review afterward on a space-available basis). The University of Montana admissions
Overall
96%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

GPA and test score ranges aren't reported for this school.

SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

Not researched yet.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: The University of Montana admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)
Early Action
December 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
March 1 · Non-binding
Priority date to be considered for fall enrollment; UM continues rolling review afterward on a space-available basis.
Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines

We haven't confirmed this yet.

Interdisciplinary Pathways

None documented yet.

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$23,570* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$48,689* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $8,552* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $33,671* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$13,960
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,892
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,180
$75,001 – $110,000
$19,269
Over $110,000
$20,930

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

We don't have a confirmed note on merit scholarships at this school. Check its financial aid pages rather than assuming either way.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Missoula, MT· Urban
Undergraduates
7,570
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†The University of Montana admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026