CollegeScout
Public

Texas A&M University

College Station, Texas
Admit Rate
57%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$33,876
$60,846 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English4 years math3-4 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Regular Decision December 1. Common App requirements grid
Overall
57%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1150-1400
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Engineering (largest enrollment on campus, competitive by department)Business (Mays)Nursing

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Regular Decision
December 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75 U.S., $90 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

College of EngineeringMays Business SchoolCollege of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (undergraduate pipeline)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringAgriculture and Life SciencesBusinessVeterinary/Biomedical SciencesLiberal Arts
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Energy EngineeringData ScienceGlobal Agriculture and Food Security

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$33,876
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$60,846

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $13,154* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $40,124* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$12,784
$30,001 – $48,000
$13,317
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,435
$75,001 – $110,000
$26,520
Over $110,000
$30,660

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Texas A&M offers merit scholarships to top out-of-state applicants, but as with most Texas public flagships, the bulk of institutional aid favors in-state residents under state law, so non-residents should plan primarily around the sticker cost of attendance.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
College Station, Texas· Small City
Undergraduates
60,710
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27