CollegeScout
Private

Syracuse University

Syracuse, New York
Admit Rate
46%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
Average unweighted GPA approximately 3.8 (average weighted GPA approximately 4.0; discrete 25th/75th percentile range not published)
Cost of Attendance
$86,675
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from CDS, Institutional Website · Last verified September 2026; admit rate, SAT range, GPA, and enrollment from Syracuse's Common Data Set via CDS-aggregator summary; testing policy and application plan types/deadlines confirmed directly on syracuse.edu admissions pages; net price calculator URL, Greek life %, and on-campus % not found in an available public source and left null.. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of English4 years of math3-4 years of lab science2-3 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Action November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 5, Regular Decision January 5. Common App requirements grid
Overall
46%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
Average unweighted GPA approximately 3.8 (average weighted GPA approximately 4.0; discrete 25th/75th percentile range not published)
Mid-50% SAT
1280-1410
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications (direct-admit, competitive)Martin J. Whitman School of Management (direct-admit, competitive)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Early Decision II
January 5 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

S.I. Newhouse School of Public CommunicationsMartin J. Whitman School of ManagementCollege of Visual and Performing Arts

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Journalism/CommunicationsBusiness/ManagementVisual and Performing ArtsPolitical SciencePsychologyBiologyEngineeringEducation
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Citizenship and Civic EngagementInformation Technology, Design, and StartupsPolicy StudiesData Analytics

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$86,675

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $65,528* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$15,817
$30,001 – $48,000
$15,845
$48,001 – $75,000
$21,132
$75,001 – $110,000
$28,780
Over $110,000
$55,401

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Syracuse offers a range of merit scholarships (e.g., Chancellor's and Dean's Scholarships) awarded automatically based on the application alongside need-based aid, making it more merit-accessible than many of the highly selective privates in this group -- but families should still confirm actual awards via the net price calculator rather than assuming the largest scholarship.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Syracuse, New York· Urban
Undergraduates
15,739
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27