CollegeScout
Public

State University of New York at Cortland

Cortland, NY
Admit Rate
60%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$28,108
$38,018 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional† (source: SUNY Cortland admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS, College Scorecard · Last verified 2026-09-22. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Admissions

How admission works here

Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. SUNY Cortland admissions
Deadlines
Early Action November 15. SUNY Cortland admissions
Overall
60%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

GPA and test score ranges aren't reported for this school.

SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

Not researched yet.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: SUNY Cortland admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)
Early Action
November 15 · Non-binding
Rolling Admission
Not publicly reported · Non-binding
Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines

We haven't confirmed this yet.

Interdisciplinary Pathways

None documented yet.

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$28,108* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$38,018* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $8,874* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $18,784* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$12,550
$30,001 – $48,000
$16,453
$48,001 – $75,000
$20,102
$75,001 – $110,000
$21,636
Over $110,000
$25,853

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Find this school’s net price calculator

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

We don't have a confirmed note on merit scholarships at this school. Check its financial aid pages rather than assuming either way.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Cortland, NY· Small City
Undergraduates
5,905
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†SUNY Cortland admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026