CollegeScout
Public

South Dakota State University

Brookings, SD
Admit Rate
98%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$24,636
$28,146 out-of-state
Test Policy
Not confirmed yet

Data sourced from IPEDS, College Scorecard · Last verified 2026-09-22. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Admissions

Overall
98%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1040-1300 (SAT evidence-based reading + math, 25th-75th percentile)† (source: IPEDS 2023-24 Admissions · 2023)
Not confirmed yet
Impacted Majors

Not researched yet.

Applying

Application Deadlines‡ (source: South Dakota State University admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)
Rolling Admission
Not publicly reported · Non-binding
December 1 (Academic Scholarship) and March 1 (FAFSA) are separate, non-admission deadlines on the same page.
Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines

We haven't confirmed this yet.

Interdisciplinary Pathways

None documented yet.

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$24,636* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$28,146* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $9,299* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $12,809* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$14,266
$30,001 – $48,000
$15,248
$48,001 – $75,000
$18,073
$75,001 – $110,000
$20,706
Over $110,000
$21,886

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

We don't have a confirmed note on merit scholarships at this school. Check its financial aid pages rather than assuming either way.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Brookings, SD· Small City
Undergraduates
10,177
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†IPEDS 2023-24 Admissions · 2023

‡South Dakota State University admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026