CollegeScout
Private

Scripps College

Claremont, CA
Admit Rate
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$90,886
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Scripps College Admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Scores are superscored when submitted, and self-reporting is addressed on the same page, so optional rather than blind. International students whose first language is not English must submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo regardless.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English with strong writing/discussion emphasis3-4 years of a foreign languageArt history, studio art, or humanities electivesLab science through junior/senior year

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Scores are superscored when submitted, and self-reporting is addressed on the same page, so optional rather than blind. International students whose first language is not English must submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo regardless. Scripps College Admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$60. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 16, Early Decision II (binding) January 14, Regular Decision January 14. Scripps College Admission
Overall
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1440-1540 (SAT EBRW 720-770 / Math 720-770; ACT Composite 31-34)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Scripps College Admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026)
Early Decision
November 16 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 14 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 14 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$60
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

W.M. Keck Science Department (jointly operated with Claremont McKenna and Pitzer College)Core Curriculum in Interdisciplinary Humanities

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EnglishPsychologyStudio ArtGender and Women's Studies
Interdisciplinary Pathways
W.M. Keck Science Department (joint with CMC and Pitzer)5-College Claremont Consortium cross-registration

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$90,886

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $65,950* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$6,948
$30,001 – $48,000
$4,522
$48,001 – $75,000
$15,831
$75,001 – $110,000
$36,472
Over $110,000
$54,572

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Scripps aid is primarily need-based; families should rely on the net price calculator rather than assume merit discounting.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Claremont, CA· Suburban
Undergraduates
1,117
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Scripps College Admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026

‡Scripps College Admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026