CollegeScout
Private

Santa Clara University

Santa Clara, CA
Admit Rate
48%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.70 - 3.95
Cost of Attendance
$86,694
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP StatisticsAP MicroeconomicsAP English Language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 7, Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 7. Common App requirements grid
Overall
48%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
50%
Out-of-State
55%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.70 - 3.95
Mid-50% SAT
1330 - 1490
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
FinanceComputer Science and EngineeringMarketingPsychology

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 7 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 7 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Leavey School of Business (Finance/MIS)School of Engineering (Computer Science)Bioethics / Jesuit Social Justice Studies

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringComputer ScienceCommunication
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Web Design and EngineeringPublic Health ScienceIndividual Studies Program

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$86,694

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $61,293* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$22,985
$30,001 – $48,000
$19,154
$48,001 – $75,000
$26,531
$75,001 – $110,000
$37,219
Over $110,000
$60,678

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Santa Clara automatically considers all admitted first-year applicants for merit scholarships, so a strong transcript matters more than a separate scholarship application.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Santa Clara, CA· Suburban
Undergraduates
6,577
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27