CollegeScout
Public

Rutgers University-New Brunswick

New Brunswick/Piscataway, New Jersey
Admit Rate
58%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$39,519
$59,031 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision December 1. Rutgers admissions
Overall
58%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1310-1500
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingBusiness (Rutgers Business School)Computer Science

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Rutgers admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
December 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Rutgers Business SchoolSchool of EngineeringErnest Mario School of Pharmacy

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringPharmacyBiological SciencesCommunication
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Data SciencePublic HealthSupply Chain Management

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$39,519
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$59,031

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $17,929* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $37,441* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$16,343
$30,001 – $48,000
$16,210
$48,001 – $75,000
$18,282
$75,001 – $110,000
$25,106
Over $110,000
$35,016

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Rutgers offers merit scholarships to out-of-state admits with strong academic profiles, but the gap between in-state and out-of-state cost of attendance is comparatively narrow for a public flagship, softening the out-of-state cost premium somewhat.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
New Brunswick/Piscataway, New Jersey· Small City
Undergraduates
37,985
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Rutgers admissions · 2026-27