CollegeScout
Public

Purdue University

West Lafayette, IN
Admit Rate
50%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.70 - 3.98
Cost of Attendance
$26,172
$44,974 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP Physics C: MechanicsAP ChemistryAP Computer Science A

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are always required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$60. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
50%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
60%
Out-of-State
41%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.70 - 3.98
Mid-50% SAT
1210 - 1440
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Computer ScienceAeronautical and Astronautical EngineeringMechanical EngineeringFlight Technology

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$60
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Self-reported courses and grades
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering (AAE)Computer Science (College of Science)Mechanical Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringComputer ScienceAgricultureAviation & AeronauticsManagementVeterinary Medicine
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Data ScienceActuarial SciencePolytechnic Applied Learning

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$26,172
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$44,974

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $9,992* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $28,794* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$5,098
$30,001 – $48,000
$6,241
$48,001 – $75,000
$9,438
$75,001 – $110,000
$18,177
Over $110,000
$22,742

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Purdue extends automatic merit scholarships to strong out-of-state applicants as well as Indiana residents, so top students shouldn't assume they'll pay full non-resident sticker price.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
West Lafayette, IN· Small City
Undergraduates
44,819
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27