CollegeScout
Private

Princeton University

Princeton, NJ
Admit Rate
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.95 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$87,888
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Princeton admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Princeton returns to requiring SAT or ACT scores for applicants seeking to enroll in fall 2028.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCMultivariable CalculusAP Physics C: BothAP Latin/Foreign Language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Princeton returns to requiring SAT or ACT scores for applicants seeking to enroll in fall 2028. Princeton admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through the school's own system. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Restrictive Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 1. Princeton admission
Overall
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
5%
Out-of-State
4%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.95 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1510 - 1570
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Public and International Affairs (SPIA)Computer Science (BSE/AB)Operations Research and Financial Engineering (ORFE)Economics

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Princeton admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Restrictive Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
The school's own system
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Princeton School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA)Operations Research and Financial Engineering (ORFE)Mathematics / Theoretical Physics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsPublic and International AffairsComputer ScienceEngineering
Interdisciplinary Pathways
School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA)Program in Cognitive ScienceCenter for Statistics and Machine Learning certificate

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$87,888

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $62,688* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$41
$30,001 – $48,000
$352
$48,001 – $75,000
$1,217
$75,001 – $110,000
$4,478
Over $110,000
$36,094

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Princeton offers only need-based grants and meets 100% of demonstrated need, so families should expect the sticker price to matter far less than what the net price calculator shows.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Princeton, NJ· Small City
Undergraduates
5,813
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Princeton admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Princeton admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026