CollegeScout
Private

Pomona College

Claremont, CA
Admit Rate
7%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$95,670
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Pomona College Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Scores may be self-reported and are accepted when sent, so optional rather than blind. The page states there is no admissions advantage to submitting.

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2024-25 cycle. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years math (through calculus recommended)4 years lab science3-4 years foreign language4 years English with strong writing emphasisHistory/Social Science

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Scores may be self-reported and are accepted when sent, so optional rather than blind. The page states there is no admissions advantage to submitting. Pomona College Admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 8, Early Decision II (binding) January 8, Regular Decision January 8. Pomona College Admissions
Overall
7%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1450 - 1550
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Pomona College Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026)
Early Decision
November 8 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 8 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 8 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

EconomicsMolecular Biology (Keck Science Department)Environmental Analysis / Media Studies

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsMolecular BiologyComputer ScienceEnvironmental AnalysisMedia StudiesInternational RelationsPsychologyPolitics
Interdisciplinary Pathways
5-College (Claremont Consortium) cross-registration including Harvey Mudd engineeringKeck Science Department (joint department with Scripps and CMC)Environmental Analysis Program

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$95,670

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $65,420* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$4,841
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,026
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,054
$75,001 – $110,000
$15,719
Over $110,000
$37,842

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Pomona meets full demonstrated need with grants and offers no merit scholarships, so aid eligibility hinges entirely on financial need rather than academic profile.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Claremont, CA· Suburban
Undergraduates
1,700
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Pomona College Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026

‡Pomona College Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026