CollegeScout
Public

Penn State University (University Park)

University Park, Pennsylvania
Admit Rate
61%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$41,338
$62,484 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Penn State admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Penn State admissions
Application fee
$65. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1. Penn State admissions
Overall
61%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1240-1420
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingBusiness (Smeal, competitive)Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Penn State admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Rolling Admission
Not publicly reported · Non-binding
After November 1, reviewed on a rolling basis.

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$65 U.S., $75 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Smeal College of BusinessCollege of EngineeringCollege of Communications

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringCommunicationsAgricultural SciencesHealth Professions
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Energy and Sustainability PolicyData SciencesDivision of Undergraduate Studies exploratory track

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$41,338
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$62,484

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $20,644* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $41,790* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$19,845
$30,001 – $48,000
$20,049
$48,001 – $75,000
$25,667
$75,001 – $110,000
$31,834
Over $110,000
$37,831

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Penn State's merit scholarships are largely funneled through the Schreyer Honors College and college-specific awards; because Penn State enrolls a very large out-of-state population, merit aid is competitive but not need-restricted.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
University Park, Pennsylvania· Small City
Undergraduates
42,604
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Penn State admissions · 2026-27

‡Penn State admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026