CollegeScout
Public

Ohio State University

Columbus, Ohio
Admit Rate
61%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$32,082
$58,860 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Ohio State admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Columbus campus. Applicants two or more years out of high school aren't required to submit scores. Regional campuses have their own application pages.

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language recommended

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Columbus campus. Applicants two or more years out of high school aren't required to submit scores. Regional campuses have their own application pages. Ohio State admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$60. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 15. Ohio State admissions
Overall
61%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1310-1480
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Business (Fisher, direct-admit competitive)NursingComputer Science & Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Ohio State admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$60 U.S., $70 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Fisher College of BusinessCollege of EngineeringCollege of Medicine pre-health pipeline

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessEngineeringHealth SciencesAgricultureCommunication
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Data Analytics minorSustainabilityPublic Health across colleges

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$32,082
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$58,860

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $13,244* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $40,022* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$4,885
$30,001 – $48,000
$5,751
$48,001 – $75,000
$9,807
$75,001 – $110,000
$20,461
Over $110,000
$27,359

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Ohio State awards a mix of Eminence Fellows/Morrill and college-specific merit scholarships to top applicants regardless of residency, but competition for non-resident merit dollars is steep given the school's large out-of-state applicant pool.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Columbus, Ohio· Urban
Undergraduates
46,815
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Ohio State admissions · 2026-27

‡Ohio State admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026