CollegeScout
Private

Northeastern University

Boston, MA
Admit Rate
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.88 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$88,542
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Northeastern University Undergraduate Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Test policy only — Northeastern's application deadlines are not stated on this page and were not verified in this batch.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP StatisticsAP Computer Science AAP Chemistry

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Test policy only — Northeastern's application deadlines are not stated on this page and were not verified in this batch. Northeastern University Undergraduate Admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 1, Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 1. Common App requirements grid
Overall
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
7%
Out-of-State
5%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.88 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1440 - 1540
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Computer Science (Khoury)Business Administration (D'Amore-McKim)Health Science / PharmacyMechanical Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 1 · Binding
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Co-operative Education Program (Co-op)Khoury College of Computer Sciences (CS + X Combined Majors)Bouvé College of Health Sciences (PharmD/Pre-Med)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessComputer ScienceEngineeringHealth Sciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Combined Majors (e.g., Computer Science and Business Administration)Align Program (Khoury College of Computer Sciences)Cooperative Education (Co-op) Program

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$88,542

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $66,162* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$2,264
$30,001 – $48,000
$2,436
$48,001 – $75,000
$5,301
$75,001 – $110,000
$16,241
Over $110,000
$47,696

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Unlike most peer research universities, Northeastern awards substantial merit scholarships to a majority of admits, so a strong Early Action application can meaningfully lower the price.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Boston, MA· Urban
Undergraduates
17,432
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27

‡Northeastern University Undergraduate Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026