CollegeScout
Public

Michigan State University

East Lansing, Michigan
Admit Rate
85%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$34,240
$61,624 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3-4 years lab science3 years social studies2 years foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test-flexible: the school accepts several options, so check its site. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision April 1 (Priority date: February 1. Applications completed by then are guaranteed an initial admission decision by March 31). Michigan State admissions
Overall
85%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1180-1360 (EBRW 590-680, Math 590-680); ACT 25-31
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingHuman Biology (pre-med pathway, capped)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Michigan State admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
April 1 · Non-binding
Priority date: February 1. Applications completed by then are guaranteed an initial admission decision by March 31.

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Eli Broad College of Business - Supply Chain ManagementCollege of Communication Arts and Sciences

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Business/Supply Chain ManagementCommunication Arts & SciencesAgricultureEngineering
Interdisciplinary Pathways
James Madison College (interdisciplinary public policy)Data Science

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$34,240
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$61,624

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $16,458* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $43,842* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$7,068
$30,001 – $48,000
$10,830
$48,001 – $75,000
$16,521
$75,001 – $110,000
$22,703
Over $110,000
$28,546

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Not marketed as an automatic-scale merit school; no published GPA/SAT scholarship chart was identified from public sources.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
East Lansing, Michigan· Small City
Undergraduates
41,234
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Michigan State admissions · 2026-27