CollegeScout
Private

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, Maryland
Admit Rate
6%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$94,858
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Johns Hopkins admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of math4 years of lab science (chemistry and biology strongly recommended)4 years of English3-4 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Johns Hopkins admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 2, Regular Decision January 2. Johns Hopkins admissions
Overall
6%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1530-1560
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Biomedical Engineering (highly competitive within the Whiting School)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Johns Hopkins admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 2 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 2 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Biomedical Engineering (Whiting School of Engineering)Public Health Studies

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Biomedical EngineeringPublic Health StudiesNeuroscienceInternational StudiesComputer Science
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Medicine, Science & the HumanitiesGlobal Environmental Change & SustainabilityApplied Mathematics & Statistics

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$94,858

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $65,230* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$428
$30,001 – $48,000
-$213
$48,001 – $75,000
$4,179
$75,001 – $110,000
$14,591
Over $110,000
$37,774

A negative figure means the average aid package was larger than the school's full cost of attendance — those families were paid the difference rather than billed.

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Johns Hopkins is need-blind for domestic applicants and meets 100% of demonstrated need with no loans for most families; it does not offer merit-based scholarships -- all institutional aid is need-based.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Baltimore, Maryland· Urban
Undergraduates
6,356
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Johns Hopkins admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Johns Hopkins admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026