CollegeScout
Public

Indiana University Bloomington

Bloomington, Indiana
Admit Rate
78%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$30,602
$60,349 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English3-4 years math3 years lab science3 years social studies2 years same foreign language recommended

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are sometimes required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$65. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision February 1. Indiana University admissions
Overall
78%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1170-1400
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
Business (Kelley, direct-admit)Informatics/Computer ScienceNursing

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Indiana University admissions · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
February 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$65
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Kelley School of BusinessJacobs School of MusicLuddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
BusinessMusicInformatics/Computer SciencePublic and Environmental AffairsHealth Sciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Arts and Humanities/Business dual pathwaysData Science across schoolsGlobal and International StudiesBS in Business Intelligence and Data Science (Kelley School of Business, joint degree)

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$30,602
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$60,349

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $12,144* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $41,891* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$6,324
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,610
$48,001 – $75,000
$12,154
$75,001 – $110,000
$20,204
Over $110,000
$25,128

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

IU's automatic merit scholarships (e.g., academic achievement awards) are available to out-of-state admits based on GPA and test scores, making it one of the more merit-accessible Big Ten flagships for competitive non-resident applicants.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Bloomington, Indiana· Small City
Undergraduates
38,093
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Indiana University admissions · 2026-27