CollegeScout
Private

Harvey Mudd College

Claremont, CA
Admit Rate
13%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$93,131
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
Calculus BC (or equivalent)Physics (AP/IB preferred)ChemistryComputer Science coursework if available

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 15, Early Decision II (binding) January 5, Regular Decision January 5. Common App requirements grid
Overall
13%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1500-1570 (SAT EBRW 730-770 / Math 770-800; ACT Composite 34-36)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 15 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 5 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Engineering Department (ABET-accredited)Computer Science Program

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringComputer SciencePhysicsMathematics
Interdisciplinary Pathways
5-College Claremont Consortium cross-registration (Pomona, CMC, Pitzer, Scripps, Harvey Mudd)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$93,131

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $68,613* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$27,979
$30,001 – $48,000
$23,883
$48,001 – $75,000
$17,968
$75,001 – $110,000
$25,468
Over $110,000
$50,665

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

HMC's aid is need-based rather than merit-based; the average reported net price (around $44,000 per IPEDS) reflects generous need-based packaging rather than merit discounting.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Claremont, CA· Suburban
Undergraduates
951
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27