CollegeScout
Public

Georgia Institute of Technology

Atlanta, GA
Admit Rate
14%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.85 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$29,666
$52,092 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCMultivariable CalculusAP Physics C: BothAP Computer Science A

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are always required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$75. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action October 15, Early Action II November 2, Regular Decision January 6. Common App requirements grid
Overall
14%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
32%
Out-of-State
9%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.85 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1380 - 1530
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISyE)Computer ScienceAerospace EngineeringMechanical Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
October 15 · Non-binding
Early Action II
November 2 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 6 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$75 U.S., $85 international
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial & Systems EngineeringCollege of Computing (Computer Science - Threads Curriculum)Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringComputer ScienceBusinessDesignSciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Computing + X ThreadsHuman-Computer InteractionTechnology & Public Policy

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$29,666
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$52,092

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $12,058* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $34,484* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$7,666
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,209
$48,001 – $75,000
$10,818
$75,001 – $110,000
$15,088
Over $110,000
$17,396

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Georgia Tech's marquee merit programs like HOPE and Zell Miller are reserved for Georgia residents, so out-of-state families should plan around full sticker price and lean on outside scholarships.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Atlanta, GA· Urban
Undergraduates
20,591
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27