CollegeScout
Private

Georgetown University

Washington, D.C.
Admit Rate
13%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$101,688
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Georgetown admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from Common Data Set (Institutional), Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of math4 years of English3-4 years of lab science4 years of a foreign language (strongly recommended for SFS applicants)Rigorous AP/IB/honors coursework

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Georgetown admissions
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Regular Decision January 1. Georgetown admissions
Overall
13%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1405-1530
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
McDonough School of Business (direct-entry, separate application pool)School of Nursing & Health Studies (direct-entry, separate application pool)School of Foreign Service (direct-entry, separate application pool)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Georgetown admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

School of Foreign Service (SFS)McDonough School of Business

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
International PoliticsFinanceGovernmentEconomicsNursing
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Science, Technology & International AffairsCulture and PoliticsGlobal Business

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$101,688

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $68,017* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$5,064
$30,001 – $48,000
$12,155
$48,001 – $75,000
$18,329
$75,001 – $110,000
$26,459
Over $110,000
$57,403

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Georgetown is need-blind for domestic applicants and meets 100% of demonstrated need; it does not offer merit-based scholarships -- all institutional aid is need-based.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Washington, D.C.· Urban
Undergraduates
7,908
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Georgetown admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Georgetown admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026