CollegeScout
Private

Dartmouth College

Hanover, NH
Admit Rate
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.92 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$91,312
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Dartmouth Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

manual: the site refuses automated requests. Dartmouth reinstated the requirement starting with the Class of 2029, so it is in force for this cycle. Applicants whose curriculum has not been delivered in English for at least two years must also submit an English proficiency exam.

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP US Government and PoliticsAP MacroeconomicsAP Physics 1

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. manual: the site refuses automated requests. Dartmouth reinstated the requirement starting with the Class of 2029, so it is in force for this cycle. Applicants whose curriculum has not been delivered in English for at least two years must also submit an English proficiency exam. Dartmouth Admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 1. Dartmouth Admissions
Overall
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
6%
Out-of-State
5%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.92 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1490 - 1570
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
EconomicsGovernmentComputer ScienceEngineering Sciences (Thayer)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Dartmouth Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Economics / Tuck Bridge ProgramThayer School of Engineering (B.E.)Government / Presidential Debate Politics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsGovernmentEngineeringBiology
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Quantitative Social Science (QSS)Thayer School AB/BE Engineering (4+1) ProgramEnvironmental Studies

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$91,312

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $68,268* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$41
$30,001 – $48,000
$489
$48,001 – $75,000
$2,695
$75,001 – $110,000
$8,534
Over $110,000
$52,036

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Dartmouth is need-based only, so students should treat the net price calculator, not a hoped-for merit award, as the realistic cost estimate.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Hanover, NH· Rural
Undergraduates
4,637
Setting
Rural
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Dartmouth Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 23, 2026

‡Dartmouth Admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026