CollegeScout
Public

CUNY Hunter College

New York, NY
Admit Rate
54%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$13,905
$21,855 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional§ (source: Hunter College (CUNY) admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Hunter's own catalog states the policy runs 'until Spring 2027'; the exact cutoff for Fall 2027 admission is not separately stated. Treated as continuing for the 2026-27 application cycle absent evidence of a reversal. hunter.cuny.edu itself returns 403 to automated and manual browser access alike.

Data sourced from IPEDS, College Scorecard · Last verified 2026-09-22. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Admissions

How admission works here

Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Hunter's own catalog states the policy runs 'until Spring 2027'; the exact cutoff for Fall 2027 admission is not separately stated. Treated as continuing for the 2026-27 application cycle absent evidence of a reversal. hunter.cuny.edu itself returns 403 to automated and manual browser access alike. Hunter College (CUNY) admissions
Deadlines
Regular Decision February 1 (Priority date; Hunter continues rolling admission from January through July). Hunter College (CUNY) admissions
Overall
54%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1210-1470 (SAT evidence-based reading + math, 25th-75th percentile)† (source: IPEDS 2023-24 Admissions · 2023)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

Not researched yet.

Applying

Application Deadlines‡ (source: Hunter College (CUNY) admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Regular Decision
February 1 · Non-binding
Priority date; Hunter continues rolling admission from January through July.
Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines

We haven't confirmed this yet.

Interdisciplinary Pathways

None documented yet.

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$13,905* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$21,855* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $7,382* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $15,332* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$1,029
$30,001 – $48,000
$1,935
$48,001 – $75,000
$6,003
$75,001 – $110,000
$8,810
Over $110,000
$12,259

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

We don't have a confirmed note on merit scholarships at this school. Check its financial aid pages rather than assuming either way.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
New York, NY· Urban
Undergraduates
17,378
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†IPEDS 2023-24 Admissions · 2023

‡Hunter College (CUNY) admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

§Hunter College (CUNY) admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026