CollegeScout
Private

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY
Admit Rate
9%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.90 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$92,150
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Cornell admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP Physics C: MechanicsAP ChemistryAP Biology

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Cornell admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 2. Cornell admissions
Overall
9%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
9%
Out-of-State
7%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.90 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1480 - 1560
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Computer ScienceHotel Administration (Nolan)Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS)Mechanical Engineering

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Cornell admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 2 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Nolan School of Hotel AdministrationCollege of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS Applied Econ)Cornell Engineering (Bowers CIS)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringBusinessAgriculture and Life SciencesComputer Science
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Information Science, Systems, and TechnologyIndustrial and Labor Relations (ILR)College Scholar Program

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$92,150

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $69,314* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$1,776
$30,001 – $48,000
$4,070
$48,001 – $75,000
$6,796
$75,001 – $110,000
$14,311
Over $110,000
$49,992

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Cornell's aid is entirely need-based across every one of its colleges, so applicants shouldn't expect a merit scholarship to change the math — the net price calculator is the more useful tool.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Ithaca, NY· Small City
Undergraduates
16,128
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Cornell admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Cornell admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026