CollegeScout
Private

Columbia University

New York, NY
Admit Rate
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.92 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$92,373
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Columbia undergraduate admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Columbia will require SAT or ACT scores starting with the 2027-28 admission cycle.

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP English LiteratureAP Calculus BCAP European HistoryAP World History

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Columbia will require SAT or ACT scores starting with the 2027-28 admission cycle. Columbia undergraduate admissions
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 1. Columbia undergraduate admissions
Overall
4%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
5%
Out-of-State
4%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.92 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1500 - 1570
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
EconomicsPolitical ScienceComputer ScienceNeuroscience and Behavior

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Columbia undergraduate admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Core Curriculum / HumanitiesFinancial Economics (Columbia College)Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science (SEAS)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Political ScienceEconomicsComputer ScienceEnglish
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Columbia-Sciences Po Dual BASustainable DevelopmentComparative Literature and Society

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$92,373

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $71,845* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$4,570
$30,001 – $48,000
$2,275
$48,001 – $75,000
$5,866
$75,001 – $110,000
$11,782
Over $110,000
$50,621

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Columbia meets full demonstrated need but offers no merit scholarships, so the published sticker price is rarely what a family actually ends up paying.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
New York, NY· Urban
Undergraduates
9,164
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Columbia undergraduate admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Columbia undergraduate admissions · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026