CollegeScout
Public

Clemson University

Clemson, South Carolina
Admit Rate
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Selective
Cost of Attendance
$35,814
$61,126 out-of-state
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years math through pre-calc/calc4 years lab science4 years English3 years social studies

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action October 15, Regular Decision January 1. Common App requirements grid
Overall
38%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1240-1410 (EBRW 620-700, Math 620-710); ACT 28-32
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors
NursingArchitecture

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
October 15 · Non-binding
Regular Decision
January 1 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

College of Engineering, Computing and Applied SciencesSchool of Architecture

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EngineeringArchitectureAgricultural SciencesBusiness
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Automotive Engineering (CU-ICAR)Materials Science

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$35,814
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$61,126

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $15,554* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $40,866* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$13,607
$30,001 – $48,000
$14,109
$48,001 – $75,000
$18,851
$75,001 – $110,000
$24,833
Over $110,000
$27,922

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Not marketed as an automatic-scale merit school; no published GPA/SAT scholarship chart was identified from public sources.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Clemson, South Carolina· Suburban
Undergraduates
23,401
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27