CollegeScout
Private

Claremont McKenna College

Claremont, CA
Admit Rate
10%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
Cost of Attendance
$91,510
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years English with strong writing emphasisCalculus (through at least Precalculus/AP Calc AB)AP US Government/Economics or equivalent social science3-4 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are never required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 10, Regular Decision January 10. Common App requirements grid
Overall
10%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1470-1560 (SAT EBRW 720-770 / Math 750-790; ACT Composite 33-35)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 10 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 10 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Robert Day School of Economics and FinanceW.M. Keck Science Department (jointly operated with Scripps College and Pitzer College)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsGovernmentInternational RelationsPsychology
Interdisciplinary Pathways
W.M. Keck Science Department (joint with Scripps and Pitzer)5-College Claremont Consortium cross-registration

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$91,510

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $67,980* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$15,308
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,360
$48,001 – $75,000
$16,389
$75,001 – $110,000
$19,325
Over $110,000
$52,295

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

CMC's aid is primarily need-based, though a limited number of competitive merit scholarships exist; families should expect the net price calculator to be the most reliable early estimate rather than counting on merit aid.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Claremont, CA· Suburban
Undergraduates
1,390
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27