CollegeScout
Private

Chapman University

Orange, CA
Admit Rate
65%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$87,730
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years EnglishFilm/media production or arts coursework if applying to Dodge CollegeMath through PrecalculusBusiness or economics elective if applying to Argyros

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Test scores are sometimes required. Common App requirements grid
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$70. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Action November 1, Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 15, Regular Decision January 15. Common App requirements grid
Overall
65%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Mid-50% SAT
1260-1440 (SAT EBRW 630-720 / Math 630-720; ACT Composite 28-31)
SAT/ACT optional
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Action
November 1 · Non-binding
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 15 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 15 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$70
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Recommendations
1 teacher recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Dodge College of Film and Media ArtsArgyros College of Business and Economics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Film ProductionBusiness AdministrationCommunication StudiesHealth Sciences
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Entertainment Business track spanning Dodge College and Argyros CollegePublic Relations and Advertising spanning communications and business

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$87,730

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $64,984* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$33,559
$30,001 – $48,000
$33,978
$48,001 – $75,000
$33,709
$75,001 – $110,000
$40,011
Over $110,000
$55,066

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Chapman evaluates nearly all applicants for merit scholarships automatically as part of the admission review, factoring in GPA and test scores if submitted; no separate scholarship application is required.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Orange, CA· Small City
Undergraduates
7,713
Setting
Small City
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27