CollegeScout
CSU

California State University, Northridge

Northridge, CA
Admit Rate
93%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Accessible
Cost of Attendance
$25,990
$38,590 out-of-state
Test Policy
Doesn't use SAT/ACT‡ (source: The California State University (system-wide testing requirements) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

System-wide CSU policy covering every campus. Scores play no part in admission eligibility, but CSU does use them after acceptance as one measure for math and written-communication course placement — so a student may still have a reason to send them.

Data sourced from IPEDS · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
Standard UC/CSU 'A-G' college-prep sequence4 years of English3+ years of math2 years of lab scienceAmerican Sign Language or foreign language coursework for Deaf Studies-track applicants

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement. For UC and CSU schools, admission is based on completing the A-G course requirements, not this list.

Admissions

How admission works here

Test scores
SAT and ACT scores aren't considered in admission. System-wide CSU policy covering every campus. Scores play no part in admission eligibility, but CSU does use them after acceptance as one measure for math and written-communication course placement — so a student may still have a reason to send them. The California State University (system-wide testing requirements)
GPA levels
2.50 for California residents and 3.00 for non-residents. Lower ranges can still be evaluated on other factors. CSU admissions site
Which grades count
Your a-g grades from 10th, 11th and 12th grade, with extra points for up to 8 honors semesters. CSU admissions site
California residents
California residents get priority when there isn't room for everyone. CSU admissions site
Local admission
Many campuses give priority to students from local high schools and community colleges. CSU admissions site
Impacted campuses and majors
Where more people apply than there is space, a campus or major can require higher GPAs and extra criteria. CSU admissions site
Deadlines
Regular Decision November 30 (This is the priority filing period (August 1 to November 30, 2026). It can vary by campus and major, so check each campus). CSU application dates and deadlines (system-wide)
Overall
93%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

GPA and test score ranges aren't reported for this school.

Doesn't use SAT/ACT
Impacted Majors

No internally-impacted majors reported.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: CSU application dates and deadlines (system-wide) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Regular Decision
November 30 · Non-binding
This is the priority filing period (August 1 to November 30, 2026). It can vary by campus and major, so check each campus.

CSU freshman admission requirements

All CSU campuses
15
year-long a-g courses
2.50+
a-g GPA, California residents
3.00+
a-g GPA, non-residents
Grades
  • Your high school grade point average is calculated using your grades in all your college prep "a-g" classes completed after the 9th grade.
  • California residents or graduates of California high schools will be eligible for admission by earning a 2.50 or greater "a-g" GPA.
  • Any California high school graduate or resident of California earning a GPA between 2.00 and 2.49 may be evaluated for admission based upon supplemental factors.
  • Non-California residents may be eligible for admission to the CSU by earning a 3.00 or greater "a-g" GPA along with other supplemental factors utilized by the individual campus, including those outlined by impacted campuses and programs.
  • Any non-California high school graduate earning a GPA between 2.47 and 2.99 may be evaluated for admission based upon supplemental factors.
  • Campuses and programs designated as impacted may utilize higher "a-g" GPA thresholds for applicants, as well as identify supplemental criteria and their relative weights, in making admission decisions.
  • Please note that California residents receive priority whenever admission space is limited.
How your CSU GPA is calculated

Your CSU "a-g" grade point average (GPA) is calculated based on all grades earned after 9th grade. Credit and No Credit grades are not included in the calculation.

  1. 1
    Count your grades
    • Look at all your "a-g" courses taken after 9th grade (10th-12th grade only).
    • For each grade you earned (A, B, C, D, or F), count how many times you received that grade.
    • Ignore pluses and minuses.
  2. 2
    Count your honors, AP, IB and college courses
    • Count how many of these courses you completed with a C or better.
    • You can only use up to 8 semesters total for extra honors points.
    • Of the 8 honors points, only 2 semesters from 10th grade can be counted for honors credit (2 points).
    • For college courses, each semester grade counts twice.
Extra points
The CSU assigns extra points for up to eight semesters of approved honors level, International Baccalaureate (IB) and Advanced Placement (AP) courses taken in the last three years of high school.
Grade points for approved honors, IB or AP courses
A = 5, B = 4, C = 3
10th grade honors courses
Maximum of 2 semesters (2 honors points) may count toward the total.
Grades that earn honors credit
Only grades of C- or better earn honors credit.
The required courses (a-g)

The CSU requires a minimum 15-unit pattern of courses for admission as a first-time freshman. Each unit is equal to a year of study in a subject area. A grade of C or better is required for each course you use to meet any subject requirement.

a
History and Social Science2 years

1 year of social science AND 1 year of U.S. history or 1 semester of U.S. history and 1 semester of civics or American government

b
English4 years

4 years of college preparatory English composition and literature

c
Math3 years

3 years of college preparatory math including or integrating topics covered in algebra, geometry, and intermediate algebra. 4 years highly recommended.

d
Laboratory Science2 years

2 years of college preparatory science required with laboratory [1 biological and 1 physical]. Integrated science and interdisciplinary courses can meet this requirement.

e
Language Other Than English2 years

2 years or through the second level of the same language or 2 one-year courses in different languages. American Sign Language and classical languages such as Latin and Greek are acceptable.

f
Visual and Performing Arts1 year

1 yearlong course or 2 semester courses in dance, music, theatre, visual arts, or interdisciplinary arts.

g
College Preparatory Elective1 year

additional year chosen from the University of California "a-g" list

Impacted campuses and majors

Supplemental Factors that campuses may use include:

  • Number of courses exceeding minimum "a-g" requirements
  • GPA in math and or science courses
  • Household income
  • Extracurricular and leadership involvement
  • Educational program participation in high school
Diploma and test scores
  • To be eligible for admission to the CSU, applicants must have graduated from high school and earned a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Acceptable alternatives include the General Education Development (GED) test, the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET), or the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC).
  • The California State University (CSU) no longer uses ACT or SAT examinations in determining admission eligibility for all CSU campuses.
Official tools

Quoted from the system's own pages, read 2026-09-19. The page's banner offers the Fall 2027 application. These rules can change, so check the official pages before you plan your courses. Each campus, and each major, may add its own requirements.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Deaf Studies / Deaf Education (National Center on Deafness)Cinema and Television ArtsBusiness (Nazarian College of Business and Economics)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Business AdministrationPsychologyCinema and Television ArtsDeaf StudiesKinesiology
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Media Production + BusinessDeaf Studies + Education/Speech-Language Pathology prep

Cost

In-state cost of attendance
$25,990
Out-of-state cost of attendance
$38,590

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
In-state $7,458* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Out-of-state $20,058* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$4,905
$30,001 – $48,000
$5,450
$48,001 – $75,000
$7,744
$75,001 – $110,000
$11,262
Over $110,000
$18,040

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.public.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Financial aid here skews heavily need-based (Cal Grant, Pell, SUG); institutional merit awards exist but are limited, so timely FAFSA/CADAA filing matters far more than merit competitions.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Northridge, CA· Urban
Undergraduates
32,756
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†CSU application dates and deadlines (system-wide) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡The California State University (system-wide testing requirements) · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026