CollegeScout
Private

Brown University

Providence, RI
Admit Rate
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Ultra-Selective
GPA Range (Unweighted)
3.94 - 4.00
Cost of Attendance
$91,676
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT required‡ (source: Brown admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026)

Data sourced from IPEDS, Institutional Website · Last verified 2026-09-15. This provenance applies to the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
AP Calculus BCAP English LiteratureAP ChemistryAP Biology

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
SAT or ACT scores are required. Brown admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$80. The Common App fee waiver is accepted. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Regular Decision January 5. Brown admission
Overall
5%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)
In-State
6%
Out-of-State
5%

Overall is College Scorecard's verified figure and won't necessarily sit between the separately-reported In-State/Out-of-State rates shown here, which are what My Fit uses to classify your chances.

Mid-50% Unweighted GPA
3.94 - 4.00
Mid-50% SAT
1510 - 1570
SAT/ACT required
Impacted Majors
Computer ScienceApplied MathematicsEconomicsProgram in Liberal Medical Education (PLME)

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Brown admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 5 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$80
Common App fee waiver
Accepted
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Academics

Flagship Programs

Program in Liberal Medical Education (PLME)The Open CurriculumApplied Mathematics - Economics

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
EconomicsComputer ScienceBiologyInternational Relations
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Program in Liberal Medical Education (PLME)Science and Society concentrationOpen Curriculum independent concentrations

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$91,676

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $71,412* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
-$420
$30,001 – $48,000
$2,031
$48,001 – $75,000
$5,858
$75,001 – $110,000
$16,219
Over $110,000
$44,937

A negative figure means the average aid package was larger than the school's full cost of attendance — those families were paid the difference rather than billed.

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Brown meets 100% of demonstrated need with no loans but offers no merit aid, so the Open Curriculum's flexibility is the draw here, not scholarship leverage.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Providence, RI· Urban
Undergraduates
7,910
Setting
Urban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Brown admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 20, 2026

‡Brown admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 22, 2026