CollegeScout
Private

Boston College

Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Admit Rate
16%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)Highly Selective
Cost of Attendance
$89,493
per year, before aid
Test Policy
SAT/ACT optional‡ (source: Boston College admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 29, 2026)

Home-schooled applicants are strongly encouraged to submit scores so their applications can be read in context.

Data sourced from CDS, Institutional Website, for the record as a whole — figures marked with a star are sourced separately, as noted at the bottom of the page. Testing policy checked against the college's own pages on Oct 18, 2026.

Preparation

Helpful high school preparation
4 years of English4 years of math3-4 years of lab science3-4 years of a foreign language

This is helpful preparation, not a formal admission requirement.

Admissions

How admission works here

Where you apply
The Common App. Common App requirements grid
Test scores
Submitting SAT or ACT scores is optional. Home-schooled applicants are strongly encouraged to submit scores so their applications can be read in context. Boston College admission
Essays
The Common App personal essay is required. Common App requirements grid
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, a counselor recommendation, a mid-year report. Common App requirements grid
Portfolio
Portfolios go through SlideRoom. Common App requirements grid
Application fee
$85. The Common App fee waiver is accepted for U.S. students only. Common App requirements grid
Deadlines
Early Decision (binding) November 1, Early Decision II (binding) January 4, Regular Decision January 4. Common App requirements grid
Overall
16%* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

My Fit uses this overall rate to classify your chances here.

Unweighted GPA
Not published

Not published; Boston College emphasizes class rank/rigor over a released average GPA figure

Mid-50% SAT
1460-1520
SAT/ACT optional
Top 10 majors
  1. 1Finance
  2. 2Quantitative Economics
  3. 3Biology
  4. 4Speech Communication and Rhetoric
  5. 5Political Science
  6. 6Psychology
  7. 7Computer Science
  8. 8Accounting
  9. 9Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods (other)
  10. 10Neuroscience

Ordered by how many students graduated in each, 2023-24. Source: U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS Completions survey). Names are the federal categories, so Boston College may call a major something slightly different.

Applying

Application Deadlines† (source: Common App requirements grid · 2026-27)
Early Decision
November 1 · Binding
Early Decision II
January 4 · Binding
Regular Decision
January 4 · Non-binding

Applying through the Common App

Application fee
$85
Common App fee waiver
Accepted for U.S. students only
Common App personal essay
Required
Portfolios collected through
SlideRoom
Recommendations
2 teacher recommendations, counselor recommendation, mid-year report

Source: Common App requirements grid, updated 2026-09-18. Anything not listed here wasn't stated in the grid, which is not the same as not required.

Essay details are being verified

College-specific prompts can change each application cycle. Check the school's official application page for the latest requirements.

View official application requirements

Beyond Grades

Sports

NCAA Division I (FBS)
Varsity sports (17)
BaseballBasketballFencingField hockeyFootballGolfIce hockeyLacrosseRowingSailingSkiingSoccerSoftballSwimming and divingTennisTrack and field and cross countryVolleyball
U.S. Department of Education, Equity in Athletics data (2024-25)
How music and sports fit into an application

Academics

Flagship Programs

Carroll School of ManagementConnell School of NursingMorrissey College of Arts & Sciences (Political Science/Pre-Law pipeline)

Career & Major Pathways

Primary Disciplines
Business/FinanceNursingPolitical ScienceEconomicsPsychologyCommunicationBiologyComputer Science
Interdisciplinary Pathways
Human-Centered EngineeringInternational StudiesPhilosophy and Social JusticePULSE (Philosophy/Theology and Service)

Cost

Cost of attendance, per year
$89,493* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

This is the full yearly cost before any financial aid. What your family would actually pay is in the Financial Aid section. Cost figures are approximate, so confirm current numbers on the college's website.

Tuition only (part of the cost above)
Tuition $70,702* (source: College Scorecard · 2024)

Financial Aid

What families actually paid, by household income

Average for students who received federal aid. Your own figure depends on your family's finances and the aid this school offers you.

Under $30,000
$4,284
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,304
$48,001 – $75,000
$13,112
$75,001 – $110,000
$19,999
Over $110,000
$60,308

College Scorecard (latest.cost.net_price.private.by_income_level.*), 2024

Estimate what your family would pay

Every school is required to publish a net price calculator. It asks about your family's finances and returns an estimate for you specifically, which is worth more than any average on this page. Your school counselor and the college's financial aid office can also help.

Scholarships and merit aid

Boston College is need-blind for domestic applicants and meets 100% of demonstrated need, but offers very little separate merit aid (a handful of Presidential Scholars each year) -- most families should plan around the need-based net price calculator rather than a merit award.

Campus

Campus Fit

Location
Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts· Suburban
Undergraduates
9,654
Setting
Suburban
In a fraternity or sorority
Not publicly reported
Living on campus
Not publicly reported

*College Scorecard (U.S. Department of Education) · 2024

†Common App requirements grid · 2026-27

‡Boston College admission · 2026-27 · accessed Sep 29, 2026